Since last year, the Odessa Police Department has issued over 100 citations for not wearing seat belts and has responded to dozens of crashes in which people not wearing seat belts sustained serious or fatal injuries. In 2019, 41% (109 of 266) of teen drivers and passengers killed in vehicle crashes in Texas were unrestrained.
1) Seat belts prevent drivers and passengers from getting ejected from a vehicle, which is almost always deadly.
2) Wearing seat belts reduce the risk of dying in a crash by 45%. That number jumps to 60% for pickup truck crashes.
3) Wearing a seat belt is the single most effective step motorists can take to protect themselves in a crash as it significantly reduces the risk of dying.
4) Texas law requires drivers and all passengers, including those in the back seat, to wear a seat belt.
5) Children younger than 8 years old must be in a child safety seat or booster seat unless they are taller than 4 feet 9 inches.
6) Not wearing a seat belt can result in a fine of up to $200 and unrestrained children in a vehicle can result in a fine of up $250.